Zoning Department

Zoning Drafts

The zoning office issues zoning permits for all construction projects in the township. The zoning inspector is responsible for processing applications, processing re-zoning applications, processing amendments to the zoning text, processing appeals, variances, and working with the County Health Department to enforce Health and Safety Codes. The office also responds to complaints made by township residents regarding township zoning violations. The New Russia Township Zoning Books are available on this site.

Landfill Passes

Landfill passes are for New Russia Township Residents only and they can be picked up at the Administration Office during office hours which are Monday-Friday 9am-1pm and Saturday 9am-12pm. These passes give residents the ability to take bulk items or large quantities to the landfill themselves instead of possibly having to wait until the first pickup of the month at their house. Some conditions do apply, such as there is no hazardous waste permitted. Hazardous waste is to be taken to the Lorain County Collection Center located at 540 South Abbe Road in Elyria and their phone number is 1-800-449-5463 for more information. Another condition is that no dump trucks or commercial vehicles are permitted to take loads in and all loads need to be tarped. Loads can be taken during the landfill’s operating hours. For operating hours or any other questions for them their phone number is 440-458-5191 or 1-800-433-1309.

Zoning Permits


No building, pond, pool or other structure shall be erected, moved, added to, structurally altered, nor shall any building, structure, or land be established or changed in use without a permit therefore, issued by the Zoning Inspector’s office that does not conform with the provisions of this Resolution unless he receives a written order from the Board of Zoning Appeals deciding an appeal or permitting a conditional use or variance, as provided by this Resolution.


Daniel Jarven, Zoning Inspector

[email protected]
Hours vary, please contact the office (440)775-7782

Zoning Commission

The Zoning Commission Members are appointed by the Township Trustees for five-year terms. The board is made up of five full-time members and two alternates.

The primary duties of the Zoning Commission are to prepare the Zoning Resolutions, make any changes or amendments to the text, and pass on recommendations to the Board of Township Trustees for re-zoning issues.

The Zoning Commission hold their meetings on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. located in the Meeting Room at 46300 Butternut Ridge Road, Oberlin 44074 

Zoning Board of Commission

Cynthia Breda
Dawn Essex
Marita George
James Griner
Kimberly Guelker
Jina Jordan
Gary Szuch

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals serves as a judicial branch of zoning administration. The Township Board of Zoning Appeals is comprised of five members and two alternates who are also appointed by the Township Trustees for five-year terms.

The Board of Zoning Appeals is permitted to exercise only three functions by the Ohio Revised Code. These functions would include zoning appeals, variances, and the granting of Conditional Use Permits. They may also issue use variances on a case-by-case basis. The Board meets as required.

Zoning Board of Appeals

Lester Allen
William Burgdorf
John Cannon
Donna Kearns
Eric R. Mateer
Wayne Prechtel
Travis Tyson